Wiring external bell BT 80D

Wiring and connecting Telephone sockets, TV Aerials and other 'data' wiring

Wiring external bell BT 80D

Postby chris » Sat Apr 08, 2006 10:23 am

I have bought a BT80D external bell which I wish to connect to my house phone line.
I have an extension socket in the garage to which I have connected the bell, using connections 3 & 5 in the socket. However it does not ring, not even click! A phone plugged into the extension socket rings normally. I have tried two other sockets with the same result.
There is a BT installed REN booster on the line, with 2 wired handsets and 2 DECT base stations, as well as the bell, after the booster.
Any idea what I might have done wrong?
chris
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:33 pm

Re: Wiring external bell BT 80D

Postby Paul McNamara » Sat Apr 08, 2006 12:31 pm

Chris,

It is possible that the bell is wired to lines 2 and 5 and not 3 and 5 whereas the phones are wired to 2, 3 and 5. See this website:

http://www.wppltd.demon.co.uk/WPP/Wirin ... phone.html

Adding in another wire to connection 2 should sort it out.

Paul
Paul McNamara
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 6:50 am

Re: Wiring external bell BT 80D

Postby chris » Sun Apr 09, 2006 3:32 am

Thanks, Paul
The bell only has 2 wires. If I connect one to the 2 rather then the 3 connector in the garage socket, I get life (ting) from the bell and a tiny spark as the wire touches the 2 connector but the line then appears engaged if I phone from my mobile.
I have tried wiring into the faceplate of the master socket and the bell works fine there on 3 & 5.
I have checked the junction box next to the REN booster and notice the wires are connected to 1 thru 4, blue with white, white with blue, orange with white, white with orange. However as the incoming and outgoing colours match, I assume the connectors used are irrelevant.
Is there anything else I could try?
I appreciate your help
chris
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:33 pm

Re: Wiring external bell BT 80D

Postby Paul McNamara » Sun Apr 09, 2006 11:51 am

Chris,

Since the bell is after the REN booster it could be a problem with that - can you temporarily take it out of the circuit to see if you get a ring on 3 and 5 in the required location (assuming you don't have too many items plugged in - make sure your total REN is below 4).

I had a quick google and any references to this bell recommend professional installation - maybe it is this sort of problem they are alluding to?

Sorry can't think of anything else to suggest.

Paul
Paul McNamara
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 6:50 am

Re: Wiring external bell BT 80D

Postby chris » Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:54 pm

Thanks, Paul
I have had a BT engineer take a look at it when fixing another problem but he could not solve it either.
Looks like I will have to try to run a new cable from the master socket. Unfortunately
that means running 45 feet of cable through the roof voids!
Anyway, thanks for your suggestions.
Chris
chris
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:33 pm


Return to Telephone, TV wiring etc

cron







---------------------------------


 
 

 
© Copyright 2013 diydata.net
Reproduction of any content on this website is strictly forbidden. - Privacy Policy