replug an appliance from abroad

Fitting, repairing and problems with washing machines, dish washers, cookers etc

replug an appliance from abroad

Postby fizz » Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:18 pm

hi,

id be grateful for some advice, im confused whether or not i should use an adaptor for a foreign appliance with a 'type d'* plug or can i cut it off and attach a uk suitable plug on?....or would i be messing up big time?

my electrical diy competence level..currently i can change a light bulb and replace a fuse in a plug. that's it!

* 'type d' that's what it showed up as when i was looking for an adaptor on the internet..i don't really know what it means!

thank you
fizz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby John Gallon » Sat Mar 15, 2008 6:49 pm

Hi Fizz,
What is your foreign appliance, voltage and wattage?
John
John Gallon
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:34 pm

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby fizz » Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:14 pm

hi, oops!
sorry, i guess product details would help...

its a blending/grinding machine
this is what it says on the base:

panasonic mixer grinder
230v ~ 50 Hz 550w
rating 30min
matsu****a electrical industries
osaka japan
made in india

on the plug it says:

IS6A3
FOR AC ONLY
6A 250V ~ VC

i hope that's the correct details


THANK U
fizz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby Neil » Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:34 pm

d type plug you mean 2 pin plug ?
is it double insulated [look for a square within a square] if it is
chop it off
fit ;normal 13amp plug;
if not you will need to ensure which is the earth [if any]
you can get a adaptor for 2 pin pugs as used in Spain
Neil
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 2:23 am

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby Neil » Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:02 am

Neil
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 2:23 am

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby fizz » Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:50 am

hi neil,

thanks for reply and helpful website,it has the picture of the plug iv got.
The description given on the site for the d type plug is
'round 3 pin with GROUND'

does 'ground' mean it is earthed?

i couldn't see the square symbol anywhere but
can i assume its ok to cut it off if its 3 pin?

looking forward to the go ahead!
fizz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby John Gallon » Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:39 pm

Hi Fizz,
Ground is earth and if when you remove the plug there is an earth wire connected to the earth terminal it means that the appliance is earthed and you will not find the "double insulated" square symbol.
If you are in any doubt about the colour coding of the wires (if they are not U.K. standard) then you MUST get it checked out by a qualified electrician,
John
John Gallon
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:34 pm

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby fizz » Tue Mar 18, 2008 1:23 pm

thanks john,

i've cut it off
it was earthed, green and yellow was attached to the earth pin. red to the live and black to the neutral.

it was a rubberised fixed plug so i had to saw through it just to check inside!

hopefully my last Q on this...
it said 6A on the plug (is this a fuse rating?)...i couldn't see a fuse from what i've cut through although if i sawed through all of it, it might be in there...

does it matter if i use any fuse?

thank you
fizz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby John Gallon » Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:20 pm

Hi Fizz,
The 6amp marking on the plug will be the maximum loading for this plug similar to the old U.K. 5 and 15amp round pin plugs. If there was a fuse fitted to the plug it would be easily accessible for replacement.
Modern "13amp" plugs can be used up to a maximum of 13amps, in your case if should be fitted with 3amp fuse but no more than 5amp,
John
John Gallon
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:34 pm

Re: replug an appliance from abroad

Postby fizz » Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:18 am

hi

its working i guess that means its correctly plugged!
thank you john and neil for your help and swift replies, i didn't think this machine would be working so soon..

much appreciated
fizz
fizz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:18 pm


Return to Appliances

cron







---------------------------------


 
 

 
© Copyright 2013 diydata.net
Reproduction of any content on this website is strictly forbidden. - Privacy Policy